VfL Wolfsburg beats FC Bayern Munich, 5-4 on penalties for the DFL Super Cup

The first trophy, pre season. Won by VfL Wolfsburg beating FC Bayern Munich on penalties.
The first trophy, pre season. Won by VfL Wolfsburg.

I was only sleeping for 30 minutes when my alarm woke me up at 2:15 AM for the Super Cup, Pokal winner Wolfsburg vs Bundesliga champion Bayern.

Douglas Costa was sure on fire feeding the ball like a mad man. It was action packed first half, two crucial saves from Manuel Neuer and Kevin de Bruyne almost scored (I almost screamed at 3 AM ha! usual me). Despite the excitement, the first half was goal-less.

The second half was better as the returning Arjen Robben scored (49′) from a missed Robert Lewandowski goal.

Manu had several crucial saves too including one from fellow World Cup winner Andre Schuerrle.

Then came this crazy substitution that sure altered the formation of the squad (David Alaba had to ask Pep Guardiola for clarification). Rafinha for Robert Lewandowski, Mario Goetze for Thomas Mueller and the new boy on the block, Arturo Vidal for Thiago Alcantara.

Lesson learned: Thou shall not sit out Lewy and Thomas unless the final whistle is blown!

Bayern, winging the rest of the minutes perhaps hoping that the clock wound down quicker, was put in absolute surprise when Nicklas Bendtner scored on the last three or two minutes of the match.

The “Lord” has answered in the Volkswagen Arena!

Perfectly set up! Kevin de Bruyne passes the ball to Nicklas
Perfectly set up! Kevin de Bruyne passes the ball to Nicklas “Lord” Bendtner to finish the play.

Equalised at 1-1. Yup.

I. KNEW. WHAT. TO. EXPECT. WITH. THE. PENALTY. SHOOTOUT.

Bayern is not really friends with penalties? Or it’s a 40% love – 60% hate relationship?

At the back of mind I was pretty much preparing myself that the silverware slips from our fingers (sorry I downplayed my expectations so I would not get hurt in many major competitions to come) and well, that miss from Xabi Alonso.

Xabi misses the penalty. I cried internally.
Xabi misses the penalty. I cried internally.

I slept at 4:30 AM thinking how will I get through the whole Champions League season when it starts…then there is serious competition knocking too in the Bundesliga from Wolfsburg and Stuttgart.

I curled in bed, eyes burning due to the lack of sleep, mind clouded as fuck.

Photo credits: Official fanpages of VfL Wolfsburg and FC Bayern Munich.

Leave a Reply

